#050: Power Play – Don’t worry

 

When I was in my last couple of years of university I worried a lot about what would come next, and I found myself relating in a way to hockey players who were facing retirement (old or young, their choice or not), because for many of them, all they had ever known was hockey – it was what they loved and had been working for.  Even if they had other interests or hobbies, getting to the NHL meant that the majority of their life had been spent on hockey.  When you’re in school for around seventeen years, you know how it works and have probably learned what you need to do to succeed and what is expected of you.  It’s hard to go from that to being in the big world where there are so many choices and you aren’t given a syllabus on the first day.

I reminded myself of this verse a lot during that time, and though I still worry about what comes next for me, I’m still standing.  To be honest, a little over a year ago when I graduated, I wasn’t sure that I would be.  I took a lot of comfort in knowing that whatever I did, wherever I ended up, God would always be there and had a plan for me.  And He has one for you too!

I related with and was motivated by David Booth’s story in HMI’s Toward the Goal, because like he says, even when we’re unsure of ourselves or feel lost, God will guide our path.  David switched his major 4 or 5 times in college, not knowing what he wanted to do with his future and not thinking he would be able to play pro hockey.  He signed a minor league contract and enjoyed playing, even though he was on the 4th line.  All of a sudden an opportunity arose and he was called up to the NHL.  God had a plan for him even though he was unsure of where he was headed.

In HMI’s Hockey Player’s New Testament, David talks about these verses (Matthew 6:25-34) and says:

Trusting Christ frees us from worry. It’s not that you don’t plan and work, but you trust that Christ loves you and knows what’s best… which makes worrying unnecessary, unproductive.

When we worry we focus on our struggles, which creates unnecessary negative energy.

We can expect storms all through life, but Christ calms the storms and gets us to where we need to go, according to His purpose.

Game Plan:  I think it’s hard to stop worrying altogether, but remember that God has you in the palm of His hand and will provide everything that you need.  No matter what happens, He will be there and will carry you through the good times and the bad.  He has a plan for you, and even if you can’t see it, there are great things in your future.  “Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” (Matthew 6:27)

Leave a Reply

