#056: Power Play – Be different!

It took me awhile to realize it, but it’s okay to not like the same things that other people like.  Sometimes I still have to remind myself of that, but I think it’s actually a good thing to be different and have different interests.  I don’t like big concerts, parties, or going out on a Friday night.  That’s just not my idea of fun – I would rather stay at home and watch a hockey game.  And I think that’s okay… just like it’s okay if you prefer to go out.

I love and listen to the Relevant Podcast every week, and one of their questions of the week was: What is something that other people love (and you feel you’re supposed to like too) that you don’t connect with?  It was interesting to hear all of the things that people came up with – popular TV shows, movies, bands, coffee, alcohol, the beach – some of them were things that I love, and some of them were things that made me think, “hey – I don’t like that either!”  It’s almost cathartic to get it out there and see that there are other people who are confident in what they like and don’t like.

One of Gretchen Rubin’s ‘Secrets of Adulthood’ from her book The Happiness Project is, “what’s fun for other people may not be fun for you.”  Be comfortable with who you are and what you like to do.  Don’t feel like you should like something just because it seems like everybody else does.  Your uniqueness and interests are what make you you.

Game Plan:  It’s good to try new things and go outside of your comfort zone sometimes, but it’s also important to be true to yourself and feel comfortable with that.  Don’t let yourself feel inferior or like you’re ‘no fun’ if you have different interests from ‘the crowd.’  There are people out there who like the same things as you, and you will find them!

Leave a Reply

