#096: Power Play – It’s okay to feel overwhelmed

Heart and Ice Power Play - It's okay to feel overwhelmed

It’s okay to feel overwhelmed!  Everyone feels that way at times, and it’s okay to feel like you don’t have everything together.  Be patient with yourself and give yourself a break.  Remember – just one thing!

Something I ask myself when I’m feeling really overwhelmed or stressed out about something is: “Will this even be an issue in 5 years?”  Usually the answer is no.  Stressful events often seem a lot bigger or scarier in the moment than when you’re looking back at the past, which is why I find it helpful to look at it from a different perspective.  If everything seems to be piling up and life in general is making you feel overwhelmed, it’s important to take a step back, take a break, and re-evaluate your situation.  Saying no to things you can’t handle right now, simplifying your schedule, and taking a break may be what you need to get back on the right track.

Game Plan:  Slow down and focus on just one thing.  What can you change about the way that you’re doing things now to get some relief?  At the end of my time at university, I realized that it’s okay to stop studying for a big exam when you feel that you’re ready.  I would always prepare well ahead of time, but I also felt guilty if I wasn’t spending my time studying right up until the last minute because I didn’t want to ever think there was more I could have done.  (I never sacrificed sleep though!)  Eventually I realized that taking a break the night before an exam (although I wouldn’t always call a Canucks playoff game relaxing!) probably helped me more than if I had been going through my notes again.  Sometimes it can seem counterintuitive, but taking a break when you have a lot on your plate can be just what you need to power ahead.

Leave a Reply

