#120: Power Play – Every Road

Life can be confusing sometimes, and there are points where you can feel stuck and don’t know which direction to take.  You are making choices all the time, even if you don’t realize it.  Even avoiding making a decision is a choice in itself.

The fact that there are so many choices to be made every day can be quite overwhelming, but know that no matter which road you take, that experience becomes a lesson that develops who you are.  Every experience that you have can be a learning opportunity, it just depends how you choose to look at it.  You may take a road every now and then that you wish you had avoided, but in the future you may see how that choice has shaped who you are now for the better.

What if I forgave myself?  I thought.  What if I forgave myself even though I’d done something I shouldn’t have?  What if I was a liar and a cheat and there was no excuse for what I’d done other than because it was what I wanted or needed to do?  What if I was sorry, but if I could go back in time I wouldn’t do anything differently than what I had done? …What if what made me do all those things everyone thought I shouldn’t have done was what also had got me here? …I only felt that in spite of all the things I’d done wrong, in getting myself here, I’d done right.  – Cheryl Strayed, Wild

Game Plan:  Think of a choice that you have made in your past that has shaped who you are today.  We all make good and bad choices, but every experience that we go through is a lesson that brings us closer to who we’re meant to be.

 

Leave a Reply

