#253: Power Play – The Impossible

Heart and Ice Power Play - The Impossible

I think it is an excellent motto for anyone to have, whatever their capabilities.  I believe we all have to challenge ourselves every day to be our best.  Sometimes, what seems impossible really is only something that you haven’t tried.  No one who saw me back in the days after my stroke would have believed I’d be here today, offering you these thoughts, sharing with you a few glimpses of my life.  Every day, it seems, something new happens that gives me a fresh perspective on life, and I have to say I’m happy to be alive.  – Walter Gretzky, On Family, Hockey, and Healing

This statue stands outside the Wayne Gretzky Sports Centre in Brantford, a young Wayne Gretzky and his parents looking up at the larger-than-life dream of him one day playing in the NHL and hoisting the Stanley Cup.  If you really want something, don’t let anyone or even yourself tell you that it’s not possible.  It might take a lot of work, but don’t underestimate your will.  It’s a cliché, but whether you think you can or you think you can’t, you’re right.  Cross ‘impossible’ out of your dictionary.  You’ll never know if you don’t try.

Game Plan:  Read a biography written by someone who has achieved their version of success even after going through some tough obstacles.  (A couple of my favourites are R.A. Dickey’s Wherever I Wind Up, Dan Bylsma’s So Your Son Wants to Play in the NHL, and this one by Walter Gretzky.)  Reading about how others have persevered to live their dreams can be inspiring and also give you some more practical ideas of how to keep on pushing through.

Leave a Reply

