#268: Power Play – If you can’t stop thinking about it

Heart and Ice Power Play - If you can't stop thinking about it

Setbacks and obstacles can get in the way of a goal, but if you can’t stop thinking about it, never stop working for it.  There’s a reason why your mind keeps lingering on it – even if it won’t be easy and might take a lot of work, it’s probably something that you want.

When Gretchen Rubin (the author of The Happiness Project) was a lawyer, she said that she would get this feeling in her gut whenever she heard of people she knew living out their dreams of writing for a living.  She would literally feel sick because she realized that deep down she wanted to be a writer but had so many fears about whether she was good enough.  Have you ever had that feeling?  When you can’t stop thinking about something even if you try to convince yourself out of it?  I know that I’ve felt that way before and sometimes I try to push it away because I can’t get past that fear, but I don’t think I’ve ever been sorry when I decide to go ahead and pursue it.  Even the idea of this year-long writing project… I had fears about my writing, about publishing it for others to see, and whether I would be able to be consistent, but at Day 268 I’ve gained a lot of confidence and I’ve really enjoyed putting the work in and seeing it come together.  If you can’t stop thinking about it, even if it’s something that scares the heck out of you, it’s probably something that you really want.

Game Plan:  Notice those thoughts and feelings that you can’t shake.  If you have to work through challenges, keep working – whether the challenge is hard work or the fear of being vulnerable.

Leave a Reply

