#312: Power Play – I Will

Heart and Ice Power Play - I Will

Live a life of “I can” and “I will” instead of “I don’t” and “I can’t.”  Challenge yourself to look at the world differently.  Don’t let any limitations hold you back.  Everyone thought the 4 minute mile was impossible until one man did it, and soon after many people followed his path.  It was all because of that mindset: I can, and I will.

When Bob Barlow was 34 and played his first NHL season with the Minnesota North Stars, he was the oldest rookie to play a game in NHL history.  Not only did he break that record, but he scored his first NHL goal on the first shot of his first shift after being on the ice for only six seconds.  That record in 1969 remains the NHL record for the fastest first goal.  Remember that can’t usually means (1) I don’t want to, (2) I don’t know how to, or (3) I don’t believe I can.  Don’t believe that the boundaries put up by others are insurmountable, and don’t build boundaries for yourself.

Game Plan:  Live according to “I can and I will.”  Be someone who empowers those around them instead of disabling and putting up barriers.

Leave a Reply

