#317: Power Play – Greatness

How many times does the fear of embarrassment or of what other people may think influence your behaviour?  It’s hard to put yourself out there and be completely vulnerable, but as we’ve seen, great things can come from it.

Lately I’ve been trying to make decisions that could lead to something great rather than decisions based on trying to avoid embarrassment.  When I got the opportunity to meet one of my role models, David Booth, I knew in that moment that I could either say what I wanted to say, or I could clam up, get my autograph, and leave.  I am so glad that I decided on the former because it’s a great memory and something that I’ll always smile back on rather than kicking myself with regret.

When my brother and I were walking through the concourse of the Air Canada Centre before a Canucks vs. Leafs game, I spotted Derek Jory (blogger and writer for the Canucks, part of the reason why I fell in love with and feel so connected to the Canucks.)  I was shocked for a second and kept on walking.  Right away I knew that I could completely embarrass myself, but decided to go up and talk to him.  It was a little awkward on both ends (especially since he likely doesn’t have people recognizing him too often), but I’m still really glad I did it.  At the same time, there have been many times when I’ve kept on walking or decided not to put my hand up or tell someone how I feel.  I don’t want to live with regrets.  I’ve learned that sometimes I might feel embarrassed, but in the end I’d always rather feel embarrassed than live with that regret, wishing I had just gone for it.

 

Game Plan:  Try putting yourself out there and be willing to be embarrassed.  You’ll probably find that the chance for greatness far outweighs that embarrassment, and you should never feel ashamed for taking a chance.

 

Quote source: 101 Secrets for Your Twenties by Paul Angone

Leave a Reply

